Lincoln is one of England's finest cities and first sent Members to Parliament in 1265, making it the oldest Constituency in continuous existence in the United Kingdom. The City is the County Seat of the County of Lincolnshire and is home to the magnificent Cathedral and Castle, two Universities (The University of Lincoln & Bishop Grosseteste University) and is home to Lincoln City and Lincolnshire County Councils. It has thriving manufacturing , service and tourist sectors and is the home of most of the County’s public services central functions. It is the jewel in the Crown for the whole of the East Midlands.

The Member of Parliament for Lincoln from 1979 through to 1997 was Kenneth Carlisle (Conservative) who was followed from 1997 through to 2010 by Gillian Merron (Labour) at which time Karl McCartney (Conservative) became the Member of Parliament for the Constituency upholding the Constituency's status as a 'Bellweather' since 1974. He was reelected with an increased majority in 2015.

The City of Lincoln Council has information on registering to vote and Lincolnshire County Council has a very useful web presence for residents throughout the Constituency.

Image by Karen Roe.