Karl elected by Conservative MPs to the Exiting the EU Select Committee

Karl McCartney JP MP, the Member of Parliament for the City of Lincoln, has expressed “honour and delight” at being elected by his fellow Conservative Members of Parliament to the newly-created Exiting the European Union Select Committee.

The news comes a week after the House of Commons’ Speaker announced that Labour’s Hilary Benn had been elected its Chairman.

The Exiting the European Union Committee will examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Exiting the European Union and matters falling within the responsibilities of associated public bodies.

Karl McCartney JP MP, Lincoln’s Member of Parliament, said: “I am honoured and delighted to have been elected by my fellow Backbench Conservative Members of Parliament to this extremely important Select Committee.

“Since the British people voted to leave the European Union earlier this year, there have been an increasing number of attempts by the Remain-supporting Establishment to thwart the will of the British people that was so clearly expressed in the Referendum on 23 June.

“From Clegg to Heseltine, the doom-mongers who seem to want Brexit to fail have had much to say in recent weeks, no doubt in an attempt to influence Theresa May’s ‘Brexit Means Brexit’ Government.

“So I look forward to working with colleagues on our new Committee in doing everything we can to ensure that the Government heed the British people’s instruction to take back control of our borders, our laws and our money.

“We have a very important job to do and I am very keen for us to start, and I will play my full part in pro-actively and positively influencing the future of our Country.”

For more information on the Exiting the European Union Select Committee, please go to: https://www.parliament.uk/business/committees/committees-a-z/commons-select/exiting-the-european-union-committee/

- ENDS –

For further information, please contact Karl McCartney JP MP at karl.mccartney.mp@parliament.uk / 020 7219 7221.